CNet reports that simply deactivating – rather than deleting – does not stop Facebook from tracking you.
Even when you fully sever ties by deleting your account, Facebook still tracks you for 30 days, CNet says.
“(W)hen your account is deactivated, the social network continues collecting data about your online activities. All that data gets sent back to Facebook and is tied to your account while it’s in this state of limbo. … Facebook expects deactivated users to return and wants to continue serving them ads relevant to their new interests.”
The article questions whether any of us knew this.